Celebration of Excellence Awards

Award winners for 2018-19.

Each year the MiraCosta Athletic department takes time to honor and celebrate the many great academic and athletic accomplishments from 2018-19.

At the annual Celebration of Excellence the athletic department handed out graduation stoles and academic scarves (awarded to any student that passed 12 or more units with a 3.5 GPA or higher.)  In addition there were six awards given out including the Scholar-Athlete (male and female), Spartan award (male and female), and Athlete of the Year (male and female).  After each team nominated student-athletes for the awards the winners are listed below.

Scholar-Athlete of the Year (Male) - Andrew Thomton

Scholar-Athlete of the Year (Female) - Savannah Beasley

Athlete of the Year (Male) - Xavier Allison

Athlete of the Year (Female) - Halie Hess

Spartan Award (Male) - Manuel Kariuki

Spartan Award (Female) - Felicity So'oto

At the event the athletic department also honored Adrean Askerneese, an academic counselor at MiraCosta.  Askerneese has been an ongoing advocate for student-athletes and was a driving force behind working toward gaining priority enrollment and an athletic counselor.