MiraCosta Wins State Championship

MiraCosta College women's beach volleyball team after winning the state championship.

SARATOGA, Calif. - MiraCosta College came into the 2017 California Community College Women's Beach Volleyball Championships as the top seed and the Spartans showed why they deserved the high expectations, rolling to three straight wins and their first state championship in the growing sport on Friday at West Valley College.

MiraCosta opened by beating fourth-seeded Long Beach City College, 4-1 and then edged Grossmont College, seeded third, by a 3-2 score.  The Spartans then brought home the CCCAA's third title with a 3-0 victory over the second-seeded Feather River College. The final match was not played to completion once MiraCosta clinched the victory.

"It feels unbelievable," said elated head coach Doug Wright.  "To get here and have the year we've had feels unbelievable, " he added. "Our strength is in our numbers."

The Spartans' toughest match was against Grossmont College. The match was tied 2-2 with only the 2's flight still playing. Madeleine Alper and Mailia Sellers, one of MiraCosta's most consistent duos throughout the year, showed toughness and resiliency in an exciting third game win.  When it was all said and done, the Spartans won game three and the match, propelling them ahead of the Griffins.

Overall, MiraCosta finishes the year with a 23-2 record but was a perfect 23-0 versus other community colleges. Also noteworthy was that the Spartans finished 12-0 in a conference that placed the top three teams in the state.

With the Championship MiraCosta becomes only the third college in the state to earn such an honor.  The Spartans will add the trophy to their back to back State Championships in Indoor Volleyball (Division 2) in 1980 and 1981.



Madeleine Alper

Alysia Baker

Cady Delay

Violeti Faleumu

Cady Francis

Ellen Keil

Claire Kinder

Roni Long

Kerena Madon

Claudia Mathews

Maddison Penrod

Sarah Phillips

Lana Salazar

Mailia Sellers

Makayla Sua

Allison Swan

Chloe Tripp

Andrianna Visesio

Summer Theis (manager)


Doug Wright (Head Coach)

Kristen Wright (Associate Head Coach)

Summer Nash (Assistant Coach)